why scam job search at craigslist
-
- Registered: 25.07.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
i just had my first craigslist Job search scam. i am now super curious and confused at what these people are getting out of posting false job ads nationwide? why are they doing it? am i just a newbie and need to be explained or is it just more of the same psycho world of scamming in general?
thanks! this site rocks. -
- Registered: 23.01.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 101
There may be many other reasons, but I believe the main reason they create fake job ads is for affiliate payments. They sign up for affiliate programs which pay by the click -- your click -- then they post links everywhere they can to get as many clicks as possible, and therefore make money. Please be careful when clicking and check here first.
--------------------
-
- Registered: 23.01.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 101
By the way, here is a link that may help clarify things: http://hubpages.com/hub/J…raigs-List-may-be-a-Scam
--------------------
-
- Registered: 26.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 10
THEY POST FAKE ADS TO GET YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION. NOW THEY ARE REQUESTING CREDIT CHECKS. I KNOW THINGS ARE TOUGH ALL OVER, BUT I'VE BEEN WORKING FOR OVER 30 YRS AND NO ONE EVER ASK ME FOR A CREDIT CHECK! BEWARE!
-
- Registered: 30.11.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 20
I would like to offer another useful tool when you think your at a bogus site.
This will sit on your browser once installed.
It will report how safe the site actually is plus for the added benifit it will give you the server address as to who owns the site.
http://www.callingid.com/Default.aspx
--------------------
**Jawjacker** -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
Hello,
Just wanted to say that Valdosta, Georgia Craig's List has gotten a little better as far as the Job Spammers. I am in search of a job and have had many dealings with these people. So I flag them until they are removed. Glad to report that there has only been 1 spammer since I started flagging several days ago.. I am really fed up with these people and I am monitoring Valdosta Craig's Job List for any new Spammers. Craig's List does not remove older listings when flagged though, only new ones but at least I will catch any that try to list now.
Thank you, Flakelist.org!
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
Hello Jawjacker,
Thanks for the link to CallingID Link Advisor. I installed it and hope it helps as much as I feel it is going to with the spammers/scammers/flakes. Craig's list info says that if a person can find the url's for these Affiliate Marketing Scammers that many times the "im"poster will lose the money that they made and their affiliation. So maybe?
Thank you again.
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
I emailed mycareerharmony.com and reported some of the Craig's List Affiliate Marketing Scammers. Maybe they will lose their money and their affiliation, unless of course mycareerharmoney.com condones their actions.
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
Been researching phishing/scamming/spamming/flakes that I have dealt with on Craig's List Job Postings. Since installing jawjacker's suggestion, CallingID Link Advisor, I noticed that most of the spammers linked back to "destinycareers.com". I emailed them again and told them that apparently THEY are the Scammers who HIRE Scammers (aka: Affiliate Marketers). Told them to check out THEIR info on flakelist.org. Their address according to CallingID is 738 Main Street,#389,Waltham,2451MA,UnitedStates. Owner: Rarenames.
I went on phishbucket.org and found lots more info. Destiny Careers owns over 1200 domains, all are phishers.
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
I emailed Craig's List and ask them could they please remove flagged Job Post Scammers since it seems they do not remove them except randomly and then only recent ones within a few days time. I asked if there was any other type of info they could require from a Job Poster that may help prevent Scammers/Phishers. Just removing the flagged posts would help discourage Spammers and eventually may dissuade them entirely. Accessing a fee for Job Posters would help too.
Craig's List offers a great service and I hate that all their effort gets abused by Scammers.
Hope they figure out something.
Please, anyone that gets scammed on Craig's List, email Craig's and flag the "im"poster.
Haven't heard back from Craig's List yet, will post here when I do.
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 30.11.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 20
It gets better than that. It seems stoneangel that the address you posted was a UPS store details:
UPS StoreAddress:
738 Main Street
Waltham, MA 02451-0624, United States
(781) 893-7411
- theupsstore.com
I dont know for sure but ,#389 could be a Po Box
you may wanna call the number just to check. I doubt ups will give out the owner but
you never know with freindly conversation.
after getting the address I always double check using google maps and a satilite pic.
--------------------
**Jawjacker** -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
Boy have these creeps gotten good! I will attempt to get hold of UPS and at least tell them what is going on. They may give info or not but I do believe the more people that are aware of these scams the better. Thanks Jawjacker
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 30.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 7
South Jersey Craigslist viewers are getting good at detecting and flagging fraudulent job posts. Just about all of the obviously phony job listings that come up throughout the day are gone when I check the Admin/Office page before I go to bed. I actually just got a job from a Craigslist post (thanks Comcast), so now I just keep going back to look for fake posts so I can flag and help eradicate them. If you see any of the typical warning signs of a fake post, which you can find anywhere on the Internet, don't hesitate to flag them and save job seekers lots of wasted time and effort. -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
I truly do want to get these people stopped but because I am afraid I'll flag someone that is actually legit even when it is pretty obvious they are not, I make myself go through the process of applying for their job post first. I can definitly tell an improvement on Valdosta Craig's List but the scammers are many times slow to be removed. Not the last two though. Craig's got them off pretty quick. With everyone working together hopefully this type of scammer will become extinct.
--------------------
Goshwin Stone -
- Registered: 27.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 8
JUST WANTED TO ADD A QUICK NOTE. THIS REFERS TO A SCAMMER/SPAMMER I'VE BEEN DEALING WITH FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS THAT WILL NOT STOP AUTORESPONDING ME. I FILED A COMPLAINT WITH COMPLAINTSBOARD.COM
DON'T KNOW IF IT WILL HELP BUT...
SEEMS THESE CREEPS ARE PRETTY SMART THROUGH NOT BEING JUST ONE PERSON AFFILIATE MARKETING SCAMMING. THIS GUY frederickamarriott90@gmx.com CLAIMS TO POST JOBS FOR Acclivity Healthcare, THEN DIRECTS YOU TO http://newjobsforlife.com?183184 WHO IS ACTUALLY OWNED BY DESTINY CAREERS. I HAVE EMAILED DESTINY CAREERS AND ACCLIVITY HEALTHCARE AND NEWJOBSFORLIFE. NO ANSWER FROM ANY OF THEM. SURPRISE, SURPRISE!
STILL GETTING AUTORESPONDED BY THIS CREEP. HASN'T WORKED TO BLOCK HIM SO FAR.
--------------------
Goshwin Stone
- Moderated by :
- Administrators,
- Moderators
Users online
This list is based on the users active over the last 60 minutes.
Login to Your Account
From The Forum...
Who's Online
70 guests and 0 registered users online.
You are an unregistered user or have not logged in. You can register here.



Latest Comments...