What is Craigslist's problem?
-
- Registered: 25.01.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 2
I just don't see why Craigslist does not get more proactive about stopping the huge amount of fake job postings. All they do is give their little warning page about the scammers. Surely they can come up with something to stop this nonsense. Otherwise they are okay with aiding these scammers and just don't care. Do they not care that some people might (and some probably have already) fallen for the scam? Are they not concerned with identity theft? Maybe the FTC should take a long look at Craigslist and light a fire under their butts. -
- Registered: 07.02.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
Agreed! I haven't sent out any resumés to jobs I found through craigslist.com, I only ask for more information first. Two of the jobs have replied with automated emails about registering with some site first. Um, no thank you! One of my friends said she thought craigslist was a legit site with not as many scams as I thought. Well, I'm thinking she was WRONG! Glad I've gone with my gut feeling. -
- Registered: 02.12.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 19
Email the CraigsList Help Wanted ads overseers("Yassuh, Boss!") at jobs@craigslist.org and let them know how lame you think their policies are. Matter of fact, email them all the time, plus send that address to some of the spammers. See how they like it!!!
--------------------
Martineaux -
- Registered: 02.06.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
Sadly, Craigslist hasn't changed. I took a hiatus from jobhunting for a couple of months only to see the same bravo sierra ads on Craigslist. I don't think they even want to clean up their site. -
- Registered: 02.06.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
I am seriouslty looking for a new job and thought that Craigslist was a good place to look but in the past 3 weeks I have been the victim of check fraud thanks to Craigslist as well as receiving 3 "job responses" from Craigslist. Never mind!! I wont be bothering with your crappy site any more and I have filed a complaint with the FTC -
- Registered: 07.06.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
ok i have been approached for a job from a mike.jeses@gmail.com not sure if he is the same one that is on this list but im thinking he is. and after applying for the job i saw a thing on id about craigslist...does anyone remember the craigslist killer? I agree with you though you would think after so much bad insite on them that they would fix it to where people who are trying to scam you wouldnt be able to get on. -
- Registered: 09.06.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
Just tonight I got a scam e-mail regarding a job that I applied for. I also noticed on craiglist that it's been a problem for others as well. I try to post a scam alert for that job and craiglist keep having me reset my password 6 times and it still doesn't allow me to post the scam alert but these scammers post all the time! We also was looking for a dog on the website to only find that the people on there (no all but some) have stolen the dogs from other areas and then post the dog on craiglist for sale at a HUGE price.
Beware of: bravemover6@gmail.com AKA Kelvin Moore. He is in Ireland and needs a personal assistant here. YEAH RIGHT! -
- Registered: 22.06.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
Hi everyone, I also received a job offer for personal assistant from same guy Kelvin Moore, I didn't respond to that one, I thought it sounded fishy. Before that add I found in craiglist another add with the following e-mail address: sewurweddinggown@fashion.biz the name of the person was Karen Moor, I responded to that one and yes it sounded too good to be true but hoping for this one to be the real thing I provided basic information that employers required at the time of applying for a job.
This person said she was at a Cruise and she didn't have reception that's why she couldn't call me. She didn't provide any address or information about the location where I'd be working. After I replied to this Add I got an e-mail from KELVIN MOORE that's when I relate the first add with that one from that guy.
Well, now I know but everyone please be careful of these two which are the same scammers: SEWURWEDDINGGOWN@FASHION.BIZ - and Compustore Co Ltd with this e-mail address: ythvadxx@gmail.com
God Bless you all -
- Registered: 28.06.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
I couldn't agree more, tiredoffraud78. They seriously need to get in gear and make their site user friendly- free of spam. I would think there is a way they could control the postings on there. I have received several fraudulent "job response emails" from them as well and I am about sick of it! I am no longer using their site. It's a shame! Also, beware when registering on websites like Job.com. After I registered, I had an unknown number call my phone- I rejected the call, but here is the number 866-926-5209. I looked this number up online and several people that registered with job.com kept receiving calls from that number as well.
Here's the article: http://www.everycall.us/p…ne-number/1-866-926-5209
This was also interesting: THINK TWICE BEFORE REGISTERING ON JOB SEEKER WEBSITE.
http://consumerist.com/20…private-information.html
Hope this helps. -
- Registered: 24.05.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 2
ok, this is really getting old fast! I've been looking for a job for 7 months now and have registered with 5 agencies (that means taking their word, excel, etc tests and no one ever calls me back. So, I look in Craigslist and I did get 1 (that's one) response and interview but have gotten at least 5 responses for personal assistants. They are, of course, out of the country and can't speak to me in person so I do know this is a scam. The first two sounded legit and didn't ask for banking info or a SS# so I was hopeful. Then each of them sent me $3000 (total $6000) that I was supposed to put thru my bank, keep $500 and send balance to scammer 2. They send this stuff express mail so they're spending at least $20 to send. After I didn't do what they asked, never heard another word. Now I'm getting one from different people each time I answer an ad in Craigslist. All the names are listed below. I have a relative in the FBI and I'm going to ask her what can be done. I have answered a couple of these very "nastily". I ask if they've ever heard of karma and and tell them this will come back to them some day and bite them in the #$%.
James C Railey-Angelheart Investment Network in Canada, advancelite789@store-keeper.net-Morgan Stone,advancelite789@store-keeper.net, MaryAnn Edwards-Makeup Studio -
- Registered: 23.01.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 101
-
- Registered: 01.07.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
All job listings on craigslist lead to a scam for credit reports or something else...no reputable company uses craigslist to post jobs...stick to the more traditional job sites or newspaper sites to find a real job...craigslist is bad news man...
edited by: FlakeMistress, datetimebrief -
- Registered: 25.01.09
- last visit:
- Posts: 218
-
- Registered: 28.07.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
Okay, yes I have gotten scammed by craiglist's jobsite twice, but know several others that have reputable jobs from craigslist. The trick to stop the madness is to check the companies that are sending you emails before you respond. It is very frustrating seeking a job and running into a brickwall, but persistance will eventually get you there. I am registered on my job websites and started using craiglist for local listings. I have an interview next week with a reputable company. It doesn't hurt to look, what does hurt is replying without checking. The most important thing I have learned is if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. Look at the pay scale that they are offering first, does it look like it is a correct amount of compensation for the position. -
- Registered: 30.07.10
- last visit:
- Posts: 1
In response to haleb:
I registered on job.com and yes the same number did call me. It's not a scam like you think it is. It's just them asking if you're interested in furthering your education. They ask you what field you'd like to study then look up schools in your area. They only call you once if you answer and that's it. It's really not as horrid as it seems.
- Moderated by :
- Administrators,
- Moderators
Users online
This list is based on the users active over the last 60 minutes.
Like Us on Facebook
Login to Your Account
From The Forum...
Who's Online
52 guests and 0 registered users online.
You are an unregistered user or have not logged in. You can register here.






Latest Comments...