Parks, Janice
ATG Corp
Scammer!
Since: Monday, June 14, 2010
Email Address: hrdepartment
atg-corp.com
Website URL: http://www.atg-corp.com/employment-check.php <-- DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK!
Post Title: Job Oppertunity -- Office / Admin Job
Location: grand rapids
States affected: MI - michigan
Notes:
Credit Card Scam
Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/
Comments
|
ellie
Jun 15, 2010 |
Same Thing Happened to Me 2 days ago!!!
I live in Florida, found the same ad on Craigslist. Received the following letter and unfortunately did what they asked. After receiving my credit report, (which was a 9 day free trial, offering yearly membership for 14.95 a month, credit card used to obtain) I called the Credit Agency (if real) and cancelled the monthly membership, within an hour. Realized it was a scam, when no one followed through for a job interview, as promised. Also reported it to Craigslist, Credit Card Company, and all 3 National Credit Agencies. This is horrible and I feel embarrassed that I fell for this. Never again, and I pray these people, with this scam get caught! Hello Ellen, My name is Janice Parks head of the human resource department for ATG Corp and just wanted to update you on the job position you applied for through craigslist yesterday. I have looked over your resume and decided to have you shortlisted for the office admin position. I would like to schedule you for an interview sometime next week (tuesday if possible) as well as get you to complete the pre-interview requirements that all shortlisted candidates must complete before I can pencil in an interview date. The position will require you to work in a high financial environment so it's our corporate policy that we do a financial verification check on all employees to verify applicant registration info. Its corporate policy that we have applicants sent through our link so we are compliant with the U.S employment standards act. atg-corp.com/atg-corp-position-check.php . It will re-direct you to the report site. Fill out the form and indicate that you want the free report and say no to the platinum monitoring option if they ask you. PLEASE DO NOT email us your report. Instead print it out and bring a copy to the interview as we will need to have it on file. Since this is just a pre-screen formality your actual score will not affect your chances of being hired. I ask that you please inform us: -When to schedule the interview time in between 8 am - 5 pm -Contact number for 2 references -Report reference number -A contact number to get back to you Please complete all the outlined steps and check that the information is accurate when you respond Additionally, I will give you a tour of our offices, discuss pay structure and go over job duties. If you are no longer looking for employment please respond with your name and 'not interested' in the subject field so I can better shuffle through all the mail I get and take you off the applicant list. Once again, thank you for your interest in the position. I look forward to hearing back from you. For more information pertaining to the position visit our website www.atg-corp.com. Yours truly, Janice P. Parks www.atg-corp.com |
|
kelleyd
Jun 15, 2010 |
Thank you for posting!
Don't be embarrassed. I literally just had this happen to me on the same ad/position. This is the SECOND time this has happened to me this week. It actually looked like a legitimate site...I am thankful that you added this to the list so quickly because I was just about to enter my information. This is just sad that this happens...I was so excited and I'm sure you were too. Oh, and I live in Michigan. |
|
Ttedder
Jun 17, 2010 |
ATG-Corp
I received the exact same letter. I am in CA. Sad that those of us who are diligently looking for work have to check everything twice to keep from getting ripped off. |
|
lomack24
Jun 18, 2010 |
Me too
I fortunately caught it before I put my information in. The craigslist ad I responded to was for a church receptionist, yet they responded with the ATG Corp website...seemed fishy. I googled and found this site. THANK GOD. It's horrible that people will take advantage of how desperate we are to make many, especially the way the economy is today. |
|
elfturtle
Jun 18, 2010 |
same thing in medford oregon
The same thing happened to my wife. They give you a link that is supposedly from their company to read which redirects you to cpaclicks then to nationalcreditreport. Here is the email: ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Hello WifesName, My name is Janice Parks head of the human resource department for ATG Corp and just wanted to update you on the job position you applied for through craigslist yesterday. I have looked over your resume and decided to have you shortlisted for the office admin position. I would like to schedule you for an interview sometime next week (tuesday if possible) as well as get you to complete the pre-interview requirements that all shortlisted candidates must complete before I can pencil in an interview date. The position will require you to work in a high financial environment so it's our corporate policy that we do a financial verification check on all employees to verify applicant registration info. Its corporate policy that we have applicants sent through our link so we are compliant with the U.S employment standards act. atg-corp.com/office-admin-applicant-check.php . It will re-direct you to the report site. Fill out the form and indicate that you want the free report and say no to the platinum monitoring option if they ask you. PLEASE DO NOT email us your report. Instead print it out and bring a copy to the interview as we will need to have it on file. Since this is just a pre-screen formality your actual score will not affect your chances of being hired. Along with that please let me know: -If you prefer a morning 8-12 or afternoon 1-5 interview -The telephone numbers of 2 non related references -Time and date of completed report -The best number to reach you at to confirm your interview Please include all of the above requirements in your email Additionally, I will give you a tour of our offices, discuss pay structure and go over job duties. If you are no longer looking for employment please respond with your name and 'not interested' in the subject field so I can better shuffle through all the mail I get and take you off the applicant list. Once again, thank you for your interest in the position. I look forward to hearing back from you. For more information pertaining to the position visit our website www.atg-corp.com. Yours sincerely, Janice W. Parks www.atg-corp.com |
|
rtw2293
Jun 19, 2010 |
SAME THING JUST HAPPEND TO ME
I received the same email! but i live in va beach. the sad part is this is the 2nd time this has happened to me over the past week. has anyone received an email that said this: We need you to upload your resume you can do that here The Job starts out at $15.00 an hour. You seem definitely qualified for our job opening, and more so than the other 16 applicants we received applications from. I would like to take the next step with you. However, I have someone that was supposed to come in for the interview yesterday but they never showed up if i dont hear back from them today (which i doubt i will) ill let you know but before I am able to schedule a meeting with anyone, my company will require that you acquire a recent credit report. We started this because our company had some bad incidents with prior employees taking advantage of us. We suggest using this place for the report free at CreditCheck Send me your confirmation number when your done.
Let me know how many hours per week you have available to work. Looking forward to hearing back! I only have 2 openings right now Thanks, |
|
str8disregard
Jun 22, 2010 |
I received this too!
I received the exact same email this afternoon. Thankfully, I always conduct my own background checks of companies I receive a response from. I am sorry to all of you who were tricked. I will actually be forwarding that email with all the related info to my social sites and list-serves to help stop these scammers! |
|
Unbelievable
Jun 25, 2010 |
I received email from both companies- ATG and the nameless company offering $15 an hour
I received the exact same email from ATG. The website looks legitimate and even includes a picture of "Janice Parks". I am glad I found this site, I usually google the names of companies that I question before responding.....please be careful. It is sad that in this time of hardship that people would stoop to this level of trickery. All the best. |
|
rtw2293
Jun 25, 2010 |
for Unbelieveable
I was wondering if you had saved your email from the company offering the $15 pay rate, because when I went back to my email that they sent me, and tried to click on their hyperlink to the credit report website it keeps saying domain error, and sadly, when i got this email i had put in my personal info on the website that they gave me, if you still have it do you mind posting the hyperlink that they sent you on here, so i can give it to my bank? Thanks so much! |
|
nohemiflower
Jun 30, 2010 |
this happened to me to in Dallas, or
I can't beleive it, i thought it was a legit job offer, this is just wrong these people don't understand that there are lives involved and that we don't have the money to be dealing with their scams. thank you |
|
jennifer7744
Jun 30, 2010 |
and me in Vegas
I received the same email response from them as well just yesterday. To rtw2293 - the hyperlink that was working this morning is: jkt-corp.com/admin-position-check.php Good luck everybody. |
Login to Your Account
From The Forum...
Who's Online
55 guests and 0 registered users online.
You are an unregistered user or have not logged in. You can register here.



Latest Comments...