Flaker
WTF?

Fang, Dan

Preston & Lester LLP

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Thursday, July 15, 2010

Email Address: doug@prestonlester.com

Location: new york city

States affected: CT - connecticut     NJ - new jersey     NY - new york    

Notes:
I responded to a Craigslist ad for an Administrative Assistant for an Immigration Firm in "Downtown" NYC. I googled this recently and it turns out that it's not just in NYC, it's all over, so be careful. This website doesn't even work (it's clearly broken). This guy doesn't even exist.

Here's the offending email:

Thanks for applying. We've read over your resume and we'd like you to come in.


First, we're going to need a credit and background check. The BG check is done in person, but the credit report you can obtain yourself for free.


Click here for the free credit report. Of course, this won't hurt your score and we NEVER ask for any private information. But we do need the verification number to set you up for an interview.


Obviously, we have a lot of private information lying around our office and these procedures are merely to help safeguard our business. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.


Once we receive the verification, we'll set up a time and date. Feel free to call if you have any questions.


See you soon.


---

Doug Fang, Director

Preston & Lester LLP

www.prestonlester.com

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 729
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Taharka
Jul 16, 2010
Confirmation

I received the exact same email after applying to probably the exact same ad on craigslist posted by the exact same company in Austin, Tx

Warning! If you click the link he provides for the free credit check, it will take you through a series of websites designed to either a) download malware/viruses onto your computer or b) phish your info when you try to get your credit report. Do not follow the link!

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account