Flaker
WTF?

Sandra

Cyberwire Media

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Friday, July 30, 2010

Email Address: sandra.carter@cyberwiremedia.com

Post Title: Craigs list job posting

Location: flint

States affected: MI - michigan    

Notes:
I found this on my e-mail after I submitted a resume on Craig's list along with 2 others which I will also report.

Hello,
Thank you for your interest in the job with Cyberwire media we have posted on Craigslist. In order to test compatibility with our company we have created a simple online compatibility test that we would like you to complete. The test is two pages and will only take about 10 minutes to complete.
To complete the test please proceed Here
Once we have received your test results with your resume we will contact you regarding the opening.
Thank you,
Hiring Manager
Cyberwire Media

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 4153
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
rdszakacs
Aug 27, 2010
Cyberwire Marketing on Craigslist

Here's the email I got from lauren.kirby@cyberwiremarketing.com

Thanks for your inquiry with regards to our job posting on Craigslist. Cyberwire Marketing is a two-year-old company in expansion and we are trying to establish an ambitious and eager team. We are very interested in your application. Our Hiring Team requires that your resume be posted via the most popular online career network for consistency and cleaner tracking. This is a free service to you.

Please up load your resume at this site.

We look forward to receiving your resume and discussing your possible employment with our firm. Please e-mail me and let me know when your resume has been submitted.

Sincerely,

Staffing Assistant

Cyberwire Marketing

human.resources@cyberwiremarketing.com

Cyberwire Marketing.com

--------------------------------------

I already replied for a job and sent my resume, so why would I need to submit it again?

spanogians
Sep 10, 2010
nashville, too

Thank you for your response to our job posting on Craigslist. Our firm is a young company in expansion and we are looking to build an driven and eager group. We are very interested in your application. Our HR Manager requires that your resume be sent via the most popular online career network for consistency and easier tracking. This is a free service to you.

Please upload your resume at this site

We look forward to taking a look at your resume and discussing your potential employment with our company. Please e-mail me and let me know once your resume has been submitted.

Regards,

Staffing Assistant

Cyberwire Marketing

http://www.cyberwiremarketing.com

jjjj
Sep 16, 2010
Tampa Bay Area beware!

Got the same email from Lauren... Man they all emailed the same day. All scammers: GRB Managemnt, Watson Multimedia, Atarscan, and now Cyber Wiremarketing. Good luck all in your employment search.

doctorhall
Sep 23, 2010
Baltimore, MD Beware!!!!!

Got the same email from Lauren:

Thank you for your response to our job posting on Craigslist. Our firm is a young company in expansion and we are looking to build an driven and eager group. We are very interested in your application. Our HR Manager requires that your resume be sent via the most popular online career network for consistency and easier tracking. This is a free service to you.

Please upload your resume at this site

We look forward to taking a look at your resume and discussing your potential employment with our company. Please e-mail me and let me know once your resume has been submitted.

Regards,

Staffing Assistant

Cyberwire Marketing

//www.cyberwiremarketing.com

Good Luck in your employment endeavors, and always check Flakelist!!!

phoenixpoker
Sep 29, 2010
Tampa confirmed...they're hunting us poor unemployed

Same email asking to upload at a remote website. I've changed my approach to Craigslist: I'm sending a reply email without my resume to screen for scammers before giving my details. Might be smart for people with good credit...mine's not so I don't worry about identity theft it's just annoying when you're trying to get back on your feet in this economy.

IamMercy
Nov 02, 2010
Houston, TX.... BEWARE Tooooooo!!!!!

The link goes to Job.com. So job.com is trying to get people to register on their website. What a krummy way of doing business.

I wish you all the best in your job search.

Be Blessed!!

:o)

Thank you for your response to our job posting on Craigslist. Our firm is a young company in expansion and we are looking to build an driven and eager group. We are very interested in your application. Our HR Manager requires that your resume be sent via the most popular online career network for consistency and easier tracking. This is a free service to you.

Please upload your resume at this site

We look forward to taking a look at your resume and discussing your potential employment with our company. Please e-mail me and let me know once your resume has been submitted.

Regards,

Staffing Assistant

Cyberwire Marketing

http://www.cyberwiremarketing.com

jordynams
Nov 02, 2010
Colorado Springs, CO

Got the same bs!! Replied to a Craigslist ad and got that nonsense back.

Bsafe
Nov 03, 2010
California is now a part of the mix, too!

Good suggestion from Phoenix to use a PO Box or no address at all on a resume sent via email.

pele11
Nov 08, 2010
Chicago: They did it to me too!

This was the ad:

Office Assistant (The Loop)

Now seeking enthusiastic individual with good communication skills to fill the position of Office Assistant. Working as part of a team with computer literacy the successful applicant will be carrying out duties which include answering telephones, faxing, filing, matching invoices, producing reports, ordering supplies, and general office assistant tasks. Temporary for 3 months leading to permanent. 40 hours per week with benefits plan starting at $14 per hour.

The email was that same "Lauren" on from above, PLUS I got an email asking me to take an IQ test! http://www.mymindquiz.com/hv1iqqz_fbc/MjAxMDExMDgtNzUuMzQuMTguMTkz/index.php?web_id=CD1818&Exitpops=9175

I began with the Jobs.com site and smelled a rat. But it was too late. They have all my personal info now. Grr. Then I went to the IQ site and, wow, what a joke! Love the talking girl!

It just kinda breaks my heart for our whole society...

pele11
Nov 08, 2010
Update! Seinfeld reference in the link. Really.

So, I went to file a complaint with the BBB (you all should, it takes less time that it did to register for Jobs.com!)

and in order to show the link in my fake HR email, I clicked on it.

And it no longer works! (Probably temp links help them track their scam or whatever). But in my browser I saw the following:

http://bit.ly/a/warning?url=http%3a%2f%2fdominateim.com%2frotator%2frotator%2fArtVandelay_New_Job.com&hash=cDePl8

Note: Art Vandelay. The fake company in Seinfeld! These scammers actually have a sense of humor and openly acknowledge what's going on.

Must be nice to rake it in this way, creeps.

hitiddleyiti
Nov 09, 2010

Oh, that's just too funny about the Seinfeld reference!

I was trying to figure out if it's from the same folks that are sending the e-mail asking for this "IQ" test, or if I managed to respond to two different scammers in the same evening. That at least one of you also got the same other e-mail makes me think it's the same folks from the same post anyway.

the "most popular" line made me snicker a little too.

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account