Flaker
WTF?

Palmer, Esther

Data Services, Inc.

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Email Address: esther.palmer@careers-dataservicesinc.com

Website URL: http://DataServicesInc.com <-- DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK!

Post Title: Data Entry Position

Location: atlanta

States affected: GA - georgia    

Notes:
These guys are good or at least better than most dumb scammers...they are posing as a real company that exists. They almost got me until, I saw they wanted me to do an online credit check. That's when I realized that I was dealing w/ a scammer.

This was the first e-mail I received from them:


Do not reply to this email address.

We have reviewed your resume and we feel that you would be a great candidate for the position we have available at our newest Data Services Inc © facility in Atlanta, GA.

Due to the fact that we were unable to contact you via phone, we’ve emailed you the following information.

Job Openings:

*
Data Entry Rate 14.00 - $16.00 / hourly (DOE)


These are DIRECT-TO-HIRE positions, not a temp job.

For more information about the company, log on www.Careers-DataServicesInc.com

Office Address: 3330 Cumberland Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30339 (Please do not call our toll-free number, it is for customers only. You will be contacted again by one of our Human Resource Representatives within the next 48-72 hours after receiving your response according to the questions below.)

Please answer the following questions completely and email your answers to Esther.Palmer@Careers-DataServicesInc.com

Note: Please change the Heading/Subject “Screening Process” (+ plus) “First” and “Last” name with your reply.


1.
Have you worked at a Call Center environment before?
1.
Yes
2.
No


2.
Is our office location convenient? (Address indicated above)
1.
Yes
2.
No


3.
Is the Salary/Rate posted above acceptable?
1.
Yes
2.
No


4.
If required, would you be willing to participate on a back-ground check?
1.
Yes
2.
No


5.
If required, would you be willing to participate on a drug test?
1.
Yes
2.
No


6.
If required, would be willing to participate on a soft credit check?
1.
Yes
2.
No


7.
If after reviewing your resume, management feels that your experience would be better fit for a different position available within the company. Would you consider your options?
1.
Yes
2.
No


8.
How soon can you start work? (Please indicate date of availability)


9.
Are you looking for Full-Time or Part-Time schedule?
1.
Full-Time
2.
Part-Time


10.
What hours are you available for work? (please indicate time of availability)


11.
How were you informed about the jobs available here at Data Services Inc ©? (optional)
1.
Monsters
2.
Careerbuilders
3.
Craigslist
4.
Hotjobs
5.
Indeed
6.
Other (Friends, Family, Newspaper etc)



Email to: Esther Palmer – Esther.Palmer@Careers-DataServicesInc.com

Subject/Heading: “Screening Process (+plus) First and Last Name”

Include your Name, Phone and Best Time to Contact you inside the body of the email.

If you passed the screening process, we will contact you via phone or email within the next 48 to 72 business hours. Please make sure you send your answers to the correct email address. Do Not Reply to this email address.

Thank you,

Human Resource
www.Careers-DataServicesInc.com

Then, I responded w/ my answers + I received this next e-mail asking for me to do a soft credit check:

*** This Job Offer Requires Your Immediate Response***

Congratulations Erika. You have passed the screening process!

After careful evaluation, we at Data Services Inc © feel that with your experience you would be a great addition to our Data Entry team and could be a valuable asset to our company's success as we grow and move towards the future.

The next 3 steps are required by all candidates prior to employment with Data Services Inc ©.

1.
Three (3) References
1.
Two (2) Professional
2.
One (1) Personal

*
You must provide contact information and your relations.


2.
Salary Request

*
www.DataServicesInc.com © compensates each Data Entry a rate of $14.00 to $16.00 an hour.


3.
Soft Credit Verification

*
We have chosen Credit Report © as a 3rd Party Company to process your free report. You will not be required to inquire with all three (3) Major Credit Bureaus, only one (1). This is very important, DO NOT EMAIL THE CREDIT REPORT. We only request that you email us the Report # provided (e.g.: 201007299280000), which is a reference to your report and not the actual FICO score. This will not determine if your application is accepted or denied, nor will it affect your credit score. This step is to validate all information to be correct and accurate. You will need to bring a hard copy of your report on the day of your orientation for Friday (August 20, 2010) or Monday (August 23, 2010) Again, do not email the actual credit report. (Note: You may cancel your account immediately as soon as you have received your report.)


*
Credit Report Link: Click Here


After gathering all the information requested. You will email the following to our HR Director.

1.
Your Full Name
2.
Phone Number
3.
Reference
1.
Professional (Name, Phone, Company, Position)
2.
Professional (Name, Phone, Company, Position)
3.
Personal (Name, Phone, Relations)
4.
Report #
5.
Salary Request


Email to: Mr. John Erickson at John.Erickson@Careers-DataServicesInc.com

Heading/Subject: Data Entry

We look forward to meeting you and have a wonderful day.

Esther Palmer
HR Administrator
www.DataServicesInc.com

Note: Careers-DataServicesInc.com is use for internal office purpose only. For Company information log on www.DataServicesInc.com

***I didn't feel comfortable doing an online credit check so I called the company's phone # listed on their website to further research the inquiry. I spoke w/ an HR woman who had never heard of either of these contacts. I forwarded her the e-mails so she can look into this more. I hope these losers get caught!!***

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 921
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
wobbydobby
Aug 18, 2010

So, I wish i had found this 6 hours ago, what exactly could they do with all that information if say oh i dont know i have already sent it.....


FlakeMistress
Aug 19, 2010

There's many different things they do with your info, Wobby. What seems to be the big thing though is just getting people to go get these reports through the links they send you. This is because if you click on the links and get the report that way, they get a kick back of some monetary amount. Some of them go further and use the information to steal "identities". They are sneaky and shysters and need to be stopped!!

The link below will give you more info.

http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/09/creditrptalert.shtm

Wow
Aug 19, 2010
Thats Crazy!!!

I guess i got got then smh...Wobbydobby did they contact you after you sent that info out...Did you receive anything about orientation??? help I need someone to talk to

wobbydobby
Aug 19, 2010

I haven't received any email since then but that was just last night when I emailed them with the info, I think it was just like Mistress said about using their link which reads " Credit Report" in the email but the actual link is "http://www.tkqlhce.com/click-3546852-10660901&quot;, at least it didn't cost me anything, the credit report was through creditreport.com and i canceled as soon as i received my report. Needless to say they I should have known something was fishy from the very first email which was @Careers-DataServicesInc.com which isn't the actual dataservicesinc website.

ATL404
Aug 19, 2010
SMH!!!

I received this same email...Like the first person said I wish I would have seen this earlier. Can't believe someone would actually prey on the people who were actually looking for a job. I already have a great job, but thought this would be a great opportunity for extra cash. Wow was this a big mistake. I called the credit report customer service. They said they have no way of getting your information through the Reference #. So I DO believe that by clicking on the link and doing the credit report they are getting money from EVERY person that does it.

Citizen5
Aug 22, 2010
Scam! Company is not Legit

I received this email also over the weekend! Currently unemployed and applied to this data entry job in the Atlanta area. I replied back to the company letting them know that I would be happy to meet them in person, but did not have a credit card with available monies on it to get the free credit report, and then cancel within the 7 day trial time alloted. This sucks that people are preying on job seekers. Guess what? I checked my email and there is an ERROR response being returned from my email POSTMASTER that both emails: esther.palmercareers-dataservicesinc.com, John Erickson at John.Erickson@Careers-DataServicesInc.com are INVALID. Wow, please do your research on anything asking you for credit card information.

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account