Flaker
WTF?

Hunter, Shelly

Hunter Properties

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Saturday, August 21, 2010

Email Address: shelly-hunter@hunter-properties.net

Post Title: Hunter (Shelly) Properties

Location: orange county

States affected: CA - california    

Notes:
I responded to this ad in craigslist:

$1200 / 2br - Huntington Harbor, 1 mile from Beach, Large 2 Bedrm, 2 Bathr + Garage (Huntington Beach) (map)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: 2010-08-18, 7:57PM PDT
Reply to: hous-efecx-1906781591@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Huntington Harbor with POOL (landlord maintains)

Large two bedroom two bathroom w garage

Remodeled kitchen and bathrooms w tiled floors

Extra large balcony off of both bedrooms with a park view

Located ΒΌ mile from water 1 mile to beaches

Available immediately!!

Pearce St at Lynn St (google map) (yahoo map)
cats are OK - purrr
dogs are OK - wooof
Location: Huntington Beach
it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is the response I received, word for word like the ones others have received for different properties.



Hello,

I'm sorry I wasn't able to get back to you sooner! Things have been so hectic for me these last couple of days!

The good news is that the rental is still available! We had an offer from the first person we showed it to, but now it appears that they are changing their mind, so we need to start showing it again as soon as possible. You were the second one to email me about it.

It is the whole place that is for rent, and it's in pristine condition. We know a lot of prospective renters want to do a quick look of the property, but my husband doesn't want me to mass send out the address as a measure of safety. Last time we did that without verifying people, the empty property was broken into and vandalized. We don't want that to happen again! I CAN tell you that it's a very special property, that would normally rent for quite a bit more than other comparable properties in the neighborhood.

All utilities are connected and will be transferred into your name. You will be responsible for cable, internet, and phone, if you decide to have these services. Just to confirm, we DO allow pets at this property. The rental term is 12-month lease, but can be switched into a 6-month lease if preferred. We just ask that you give us fair notice if you are moving out.

If you would like to set up an appointment, go to the link below and request the free copy of your rental / credit report. We use this company for all the properties we manage. Just fill out the form and indicate that you want the free credit report. The actual scores on the report aren't important to us, it's more of a formality to have it on file, to make sure you are who you say you are.

Get your report here: http://leasing-reports.com/property09708/

Remember, we only need to see the page about the rental history. That will be all you will need to bring with you to the showing.

As far as getting together to see the property goes, I am available to show it any time from 10:00 am on, for the next couple of days. Let me know when you've printed out your credit report, and we will set up a time to do your walk-through.

Thank you once again for your interest!

Shelly Hunter

----------------------------------------------------
This is a scam to get you to buy the credit report. This property does not exist!

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 876
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.

FlakeMistress
Aug 21, 2010

Yup! The good ol' credit report scam. Here's a government link that explains it further.

http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/09/creditrptalert.shtm

Tiffany
Aug 21, 2010

This is exactly the same e-mail I have been seeing for several different properties around the US. Unbelievable! Shame, Shame.

Susan
Aug 22, 2010
ALSO GOES BY WILMA HUNTER

Same Scam on room rentals from Craigs List. Same response about it being hetic and the like. Lets hope everyone reports and is aware of these scams.

Susan
Aug 22, 2010
HUNTER IP LOCATED IN BAHAMAS

Current Registrar: INTERNET.BS CORP.

IP Address: 174.121.128.8 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)

Lock Status: clientTransferProhibited

ACTIVATED 7-27-10

YOU CAN FIND ANY COMPANY HERE AND IT WILL GIVE YOU THEIR LOCATION. THIS SITE WAS LISTED ON FED SITE FOR LOCATING SCAM EMAILS www.networksolutions.com

Tamara1201
Aug 22, 2010
Shelly Hunter

I got the exact same email today, I had responded to an ad in Miramar Beach, FL. I was suspicious because she didn't answer the question I asked her, just wanted me to do the credit report.

fmcfm
Aug 24, 2010
Not so much to sell you a report

It links to a legit credit report org. I think the intention is to collect identities from credit reports and then do who knows what with the information.

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account