Flaker
WTF?

Newsome, Sharon

Newsome Properties LLC

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Monday, August 30, 2010

Email Address: sharon-newsome@newsomepropertiesllc.com

Website URL: http://leasing-reports.com/property08832/ <-- DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK!

Post Title: $255 Need a roomie two seperate baths and 2 beds near the mall (Monroe)

Location: monroe

States affected: MI - michigan    

Notes:
Craiglist Post.
$255 Need a roomie two seperate baths and 2 beds near the mall (Monroe)

I emailed this ad that I was interested in, This is the response I got:

Hello, thanks for taking the time to email my daughter about the room, being a realtor she asked that i help her with the screening.

I thought I had the place rented last week to a friends niece, but communication has dropped off. you are the first person to email about it since I put it back on the market. It would only be fair that I gave you the first shot at it. To tell you a little bit about your potential roomate, "i am a 28 year old professional female. Non-smoker, occasional drinker and WILL not bring any drama into the house. I'm not going to follow you around with a white gloves but would think you'd want to help keep the place clean. I don't have a pet but am not against them." is her 2 sentance description she asked me to pass along. I would prefer a year lease, but would also be open to shorter terms. I'm sure that you will want to see the property before making a final decision. I would simply give you the address and let you swing by, but for safety reasons i would rather meet somewhere first and talk/answer any questions, then let you follow me to the property. rest assured the home has een up kept properly and had a good cleaning and fresh coat of paint. all utilities are taken care of in the rent. If you want to go ahead and schedule a time to to see the property, go to the link below and print off the free copy of your report. Your score isn't important, I'm just interested in seeing that here are no evictions/landlord related judgments..... and so on.....

When I went to the link she provided, it rerouted me to a site called (fake site) nationalcreditreport.com where it looked legitimate but isn't ( I did not know this). It asks for your name and credit card number for "verification of who you are" and then it says it will send you an email for a confirmation (log in). I NEVER recieved an email.
after getting a little more inquisitive, I tried going to the newsomeproperties.com web site that doesn't exist. I then looked up the title in google where I found this on Flake.com

I went and pullled all my money off this credit card and will be contacting the ic3.gov to report this.

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 3634
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
Unknown publication
Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
blown32
Aug 31, 2010

Same person is trying the same thing in Colorado springs. I got the EXACT same e-mail when I inquired about a room for rent.

methree
Sep 02, 2010
Sharon Newsome Scam Job

Ditto here in S.Florida. Same e-mail.

LK1
Sep 03, 2010

Just received the same letter for a rental in Lansing. When I didn't fill out the form, I received another emailing stating the following:

Hi there,

I'm so sorry for this...but the couple that was looking at the place originally, actually came back and put their deposit down. I mentioned that things have been hectic around here... I guess they had been calling me frantically, and my phone was in a spot in our house that, for whatever reason, gets really bad reception...so I didn't even notice they were trying to call back. Anyways, they just got back in touch with my husband and signed the lease, and put down the deposit and everything. I'm really sorry for all this confusion.

We own multiple properties in the area so we will definitely keep you on the top of the list if anything else comes available soon.

Thanks,

Sharon

Complete scam. This makes me so angry.

methree
Sep 03, 2010
Sharon Gruesome Scam Job

Ditto again, exact same return e-mail as above.

Send a reply thanking them for responding. That you are a retired ex-Fed. agent screening potential roommates for your son/daughter who works in the State/Fed. Internet Fraud-Scammer Unit based in wherever state you are. That you want to make sure whoever he/she rents from is not a pervert or scammer. That your potential roommate is clean, doesn't have any pets, drink, smoke, or do drugs...yet? You don't have to give me the actual rental address, I understand with all he perverts and SCAMMERS on the Internet these days it's understandable. Do I have to give you my personal info to get my FREE credit- leasing report? Please send me your phone number so I can set up a appointment to meet you in person, preferably in a neutral meeting place, like the lobby of the local Sheriff's Office where we can both be safe? Look forward to meeting with you!

Thanks!


FlakeMistress
Sep 03, 2010

Hehehehe I like your way of thinking, methree.

01jewl
Sep 03, 2010
Scammed as well!

I received the same email from sharon newsome@newsomepropertiesllc.com. Taking advantage of people who are in these situations is deplorable. Here is the same letter.

Hello,

I'm sorry I wasn't able to get back to you sooner! Things have been so hectic for me these last couple of days!

The good news is that the rental is still available! We had an offer from the first person we showed it to, but now it appears that they are changing their mind, so we need to start showing it again as soon as possible. You were the second one to email me about it.

It is the whole place that is for rent, and it's in pristine condition. We know a lot of prospective renters want to do a quick look of the property, but my husband doesn't want me to mass send out the address as a measure of safety. Last time we did that without verifying people, the empty property was broken into and vandalized. We don't want that to happen again! I CAN tell you that it's a very special property, that would normally rent for quite a bit more than other comparable properties in the neighborhood.

All utilities are connected and will be transferred into your name. You will be responsible for cable, internet, and phone, if you decide to have these services. Just to confirm, we DO allow pets at this property. The rental term is 12-month lease, but can be switched into a 6-month lease if preferred. We just ask that you give us fair notice if you are moving out.

If you would like to set up an appointment, go to the link below and request the free copy of your rental / credit report. We use this company for all the properties we manage. Just fill out the form and indicate that you want the free credit report. The actual scores on the report aren't important to us, it's more of a formality to have it on file, to make sure you are who you say you are.

Get your report here: //leasing-reports.com/property06054/

Remember, we only need to see the page about the rental history. That will be all you will need to bring with you to the showing.

As far as getting together to see the property goes, I am available to show it any time from 10:00 am on, for the next couple of days. Let me know when you've printed out your credit report, and we will set up a time to do your walk-through.

Thank you once again for your interest!

Sharon Newsome

dla
Sep 08, 2010
same scam. I am pissed!

Yep..I got the same scammer who basically sent out the same emails to me as with all of you. Why are people like this? It is seriously messed up. Not cool...I wish I knew how to get this information out to everyone everywhere...

I wish I knew how to locate this person/company/terrorist...because what else could they be called when they cause havoc on anothers financial situation???


FlakeMistress
Sep 08, 2010

DLA, I could think of A LOT of names I'd enjoy calling them but they aren't allowed here on Flakelist. :)

thaleia
Sep 09, 2010

Same in Las Vegas

nifer1
Sep 12, 2010
so thankful i checked, first!

I'm in the Bay Area in California, an area where it is extremely difficult to find affordable housing, and i got the EXACT same email in response to an add i responded to. I'm so glad i tried to look them up before responding!

akpkjun
Sep 15, 2010
same scam email in bay area, california

sharon newsome sent me similar email when i responded to advertisement in craigslist. I am reporting to spam@uce.gov

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account