Flaker
WTF?

Green, Gina

Barry Corp & Partners

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Sunday, January 30, 2011

Website URL: http://barryportal.biz <-- DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK!

Post Title: Office Clerk

Location: los angeles

States affected: CA - california    

Notes:
Hey [name],
We would like to thank you for sending your resume to Barry Corp & Partners. After overlooking your initial credentials, I think you could possibly be a great fit for our company. Our Human Resource manager would like to schedule an interview with you before she leaves for vacation early next week. You need to complete the pre-interview screening before we can schedule an interview, which can be found at barryportal.biz or the career link on our homepage. Your applicant code is 254114. Please write down your code, as that is the only way you can gain access to your application and employee profile. Once you complete your screening someone from HR will contact you within 72 hours to schedule an interview.

Respectfully,
Gina Green
Barry Corp & Partners

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 1966
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
MdV
Jan 30, 2011
Barry Corp & Partners

I just got the same email. Yesterday I applied for the following position: Administrative Assistant (TX)

And I am on their webside filling in all the questions.

How do you know if this a scam :(

Thank you for publishing this!

Hey (name),

We would like to thank you for sending your resume to Barry Corp & Partners. After overlooking your initial credentials, I think you could possibly be a great fit for our company. Our Human Resource manager would like to schedule an interview with you before she leaves for vacation early next week. You need to complete the pre-interview screening before we can schedule an interview, which can be found at barryjobs.biz or the career link on our homepage. Your applicant code is 254114. Please write down your code, as that is the only way you can gain access to your application and employee profile. Once you complete your screening someone from HR will contact you within 72 hours to schedule an interview.

Respectfully,

Dan Litkey

Barry Corp & Partners

adrjr
Jan 30, 2011
Barry Corp & Partners

Wow, Same here in TX, Austin. I filled out the questions, but I did not do the credit check. I seriously thought it was legit until the credit check. This is frustrating...

jmmfan1
Jan 31, 2011
Same Here

I also live in Austin and thought it legit till I got to the Credit check. It didn't seem right, so I Googled it. Thanks everyone!!

jmmfan1
Jan 31, 2011
PS

Said I was one of the top 5 candidates and there are three of us here already. Will be interesting to see if two others show up. The posting has been removed from Craigslist.

Laura

natvh
Jan 31, 2011
Los Angeles

I just received the SAME response email, but from Gina's sister Amy Green.

I had applied to a Craigslist posting for "Office Clerk" in downtown Los Angeles. I should have known better.

First, They said they were near Figuero street in LA, which was weird for 2 reasons: 1- they misspelled Figueroa Street and 2- who says "located near" a street?

Second, they offered $20 per hour (a large amount) for too simple a job description "office clerk to assist with daily task and help with work load. Main duties include keeping a visitor log and simple data entry along with running errands."

I also assumed the person posting was ESL (spoke another primary language), so I let the bad post slide. On second thought, who would be in charge of hiring at a company that is able to pay $20 per hour to a receptionist and yet can't spell "workload," "tasks," or "Figueroa" and writes such a bad job description?!! That should have been a HUGE tip-off.

I am a fool. But at least I am a skeptical fool and googled them before I clicked the link!!

Thanks everyone for outing them.

punkinboo
Jan 31, 2011
Barry Corp and Partners

I received the exact same email but, all I did was the first part...name,email, and the code...I stopped and red the rest after I did that. Something told me too look this company up because I couldn't remember if I filled out an application or not but, thanks for putting this information out there. Hopefully I don't get a virus on my computer or anything.

"Mad as ever"

KIMM999
Feb 01, 2011
Barry Corp Tyler corp

I got the same email here in South Jersey , I look up every company I can on google before filling anything out.

Maramanduas
Feb 01, 2011
Barry Corp & Partners

Austin, TX - here as well, just got the email.

jenna1173
Feb 01, 2011
Barry Corp & Partners

I just received the EXACT same email as the original poster, with the only difference being the "person" who sent it. Mine was sent by an "Ethan Austin".

After receiving several scam responses to other resumes I've sent out, I've begun to become a pro at seeing things that seem suspicious. During my first read though, I thought, "Great...this sounds legitimate enough" because there wasn't the company's blatant request to verify credit through another website and send them the verification number, and this email seemed to provide details that I thought could be quite plausible--someone wanting to do schedule an interview before going on vacation, or even filling out a pre-interview screening through a company portal. But as I reread the email, I started seeing some flags that made me question the legitimacy and decided to perfom a Google search of the company. For those curious, the signs were:

-Hey First Last Name -- I don't think a professional HR representative for a company use "Hey" as a greeting.

-"After overlooking your creditentials"... -- overlooking? Just didn't sound right. "After looking over" -- yes. Or "after reviewing". But the use of "overlooking" here made it sound like they failed to notice or missed something. I don't know, just seem weird.

-The listing has been removed from Craigslist where it was posted yesterday. I always copy the link for future reference. This is exactly my reason why.

While I am thankful I caught this one too before I taking it any further, I am saddened because there are so many of us out there who are looking for jobs (I've been unemployed for almost 2 years), and we have to waste our time weeding out the scams. It's ridiculous! I wish everyone success in their job search.

penguin318
Feb 01, 2011
Barry Corp & Partners

I got the same email this morning. I noticed the interesting grammar errors.

It is strange. So has anybody filled it out and heard back from the company?

alyssavictoriaa
Feb 01, 2011
Barry Corp & Partners

I just got the same email here in San Diego, CA. I was filling out the "initial credentials" and on the 3rd to the last question I decided to google Barry Corp & Partners. Flakelist.org was the first to pop up.

I guess they felt you all were catching on because I got a Good-day. & Hanna Austin from HR emailed me.

I have been scammed before, unfortunately.

Thank goodness I found this!

lynnterrell
Feb 01, 2011
Gulfport, MS

Scammer!!! Sent a fake email address for me to reply to for a pre-employment interview. They gave the following email address and connections: tyler-work.biz and www.tyler-corp.com. Replied to email address returned non existent already.

penguin318
Feb 02, 2011
On CL Again

They posted on CL in Austin today (2/2). This is the email address to send your resume: admin@austinmakers.com Austinmakers.com is a forbidden server address. Exact same ad that was on last week.

I reported them to the FTC, but who knows if it will do any good.

Jnmyers82
Feb 02, 2011
Tyler Corp & Partners

yea i got the same email today except mine was from a Barry Fields and the Corporation has a different name and I live in New Jersey, but the email was the exact thing. I didnt click or fill out anything cause i also look into the company before i fill out anything. And when i looked into the company this website came up.. which is such a good idea. But yea this is def a scam email. thanks for all the info ive read :)

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account