Flaker
WTF?

W. Olsen, Alan

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Friday, May 25, 2012

Email Address: alanwolsen@yahoo.com

Post Title: Wedding Photographer

Location: chicago

States affected: IL - illinois     IN - indiana    

Notes:
I applied for a wedding photography position via Craigslist. I got this response.
IT IS TOTALLY INSANE/OUTLANDISH/ UNBELIEVABLE (literally!)
!!! Who comes up with this stuff??? Hah!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------


Hello ,

I am Mr Alan W Olsen, I really appreciate your response in working for us as our Wedding Photographer, well..we are looking for an experienced, motivated Wedding Photographer required for our wedding coming up, sorry to informed you that the date of the weeding have change to 30th of June 2012. We are a young and busy family who lives in states. But presently I'm on business trip to West Africa. I bid for a portion of petroleum land sometimes ago in West Africa and fortunately I won, so I have to move quickly down to Africa to have my company set up. I came over here with my lovely wife so, that was the reason why the date of the weeding change to 30th 0f June 2012. And both of us will be back to the states before 30th 0f June 2012 on our wedding day.

Let me know your charges for your required services if you are to work for at most 8 Hours on that day. We want about 120 copies of different photos in both black and white and in colored both in the church and reception and of both the bride and the bridegroom, their parents, the officiating ministers and our guests. We will select the best 120 copies of different snaps photos in both black and white and colored and in Two main sizes and dimensions which is required for my personal use at home:
1)16" x 12" (405 x 305mm) approx. including post and packaging
2)12" x 10" (305 x 204mm) approx. including post and packaging
3) I want just one Panoramic images size 18" x 6.5" (457mm x165mm)
30 10x8 prints in album.colored Snapped in the church and at the reception. I want it for me and my wife, Our parents, the officiating ministers and our guests.

I will be requiring your service for at least 8 Hours at both occasions (church and at the reception). The church is Christ Fellowship. If you are out of city, I will pay the transportation charges to and from the party venue so I want you to indicate in your email if you are out of City and let me know what it will cost you to get transport to Christ Fellowship so that we both can work it out and also the total amount you will receive for the whole services at the occasion. We will have the photographs snapped at the wedding forwarded to the Publisher of a Magazine Company so they could feature it in their celebrity journal and due to this, I want the pictures neat and nice.

However, I will be making the payment by means of Money order or bank transfer since am not around now to pay you in cash and i must make a down payment before 30th 0f June. Let me have your full Names, Address, Phone Number, where the Money order will be mailed to for the payment. More so, should you be out of state, the Hotel accommodation will be provided for by me. Waiting to read from you soon as regards this.

Thanks and have nice day.
Regards.
Alan W Olsen

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 308
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
larjw91
May 31, 2012
I got the same e-mail

I was just dumb enough to fall for it... The good thing, though, is that I called the church to see if the wedding exists. Left 2 voicemails and sent an e-mail. Waiting for a response!!

larjw91
May 31, 2012
Confirming e-mail that this is fake

Beth P., the wedding coordinator of Christ Fellowship Church responded to my e-mail saying:

"I do not have a wedding scheduled that day. You are the 2nd or 3rd photographer who has asked about that name and date. Have you talked to him?"

I told her that she's helped so many of us. Thank God this thing is over. Never falling for that again.


ThePowersThatBe
May 31, 2012
Photographer Wanted - Craigslist Ad

Since photography is a specialized field, always question the motives (before applying)of why someone would posted an ad rather than contacting a photographer directly?

A professional photographer's business is obtained usually by referral, a contract or inquires made through their website.

Stay away, it's a scam.

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account

Harvest - Own Your Workday Track it Wisely