Flaker
WTF?

http://stimulusjobs.net/

Share |

Scammer!

Since: Thursday, July 12, 2012

Website URL: http://stimulusjobs.net/ <-- DO NOT CLICK THIS LINK!

Post Title: No stimulus jobs there!

Location:

States affected:

Notes:
Under "government jobs" at Craigslist, I saw an ad that promised access to thousands of new stimulus jobs. I clicked on the official-looking picture and the link took me to a page at the url stotro.com, which redirected me to stimulusjobs.net.

At stimulusjobs.net, I was asked to fill out basic contact info: name, email, phone. Got suspicious when that led me to a form for me to fill out about my education. It looked like I was getting into a spam and scam operation, and when I tried to exit, I got a huge flashing warning promising me free stuff. Restarted my computer to get the heck out of there.

Googled them and found out they're a spam and scam operation that has no actual access to jobs. They put out this ad across the country at craigslist, linkedin discussion groups, and other places. Usually it's under cover of other bogus website names that redirect you to the site. They advertise access to government jobs in a wide variety of different job categories.

Another site "PublicSectorJobs.info" appears to be part of the same scam, with the same web format and hidden, redirected links.

After I made the mistake of "registering" with them, I started getting a lot of email spam and a few spam texts out of it.

Report to the FTC at https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

  Hits: 659
Search Craig's List:

 

Comments

Error! The action you wanted to perform was not successful for some reason, maybe because of a problem with what you input. Please check and try again.
lindabee
Jul 13, 2012
Stimulusjobs.net fake address

When this is posted to local craigslist boards through one of their fake websites, you might see a street address on it:

215 W. Ohio St. Floor 3

... along with the name of the city you're logged on to. It's the same street address for Minneapolis, Detroit, Chicago, St. Louis, Newark, Raleigh, on and on. I first got suspicious when I didn't recognize the Minneapolis address, then started googling it.

Lesson learned: Just because they list an address, doesn't mean it's a real one.

 

Comments

You must be registered and logged in to post comments.

Login to your FlakeList account

Register a new FlakeList account

Harvest - Own Your Workday Track it Wisely